Jane Doe January

Teste agora Assinatura sem compromisso. Cancele quando quiser.


In the vein of Alice Sebold’s Lucky, comes a compelling, real-life crime mystery and gripping memoir of the cold case prosecution of a serial rapist, told by one of his victims.

On the morning of September 12, 2013, a fugitive task force broke down the door of Arthur Fryar’s apartment in Brooklyn. His DNA, entered in the FBI’s criminal database after a drug conviction, had been matched to evidence from a rape in Pennsylvania years earlier. Over the next year, Fryar and his lawyer fought his extradition and prosecution for the rape—and another like it—which occurred in 1992. The names of the victims, one from January, the other from November, were suppressed; the prosecution and the media referred to them as Jane Doe.

Now, Jane Doe January tells her story.

Emily Winslow was a young drama student at Carnegie Mellon University’s elite conservatory in Pittsburgh when a man brutally attacked and raped her in January 1992. While the police's search for her rapist proved futile, Emily reclaimed her life. Over the course of the next two decades, she fell in love, married, had two children, and began writing mystery novels set in her new hometown of Cambridge, England. Then, in fall 2013, she received shocking news—the police had found her rapist.

This is her intimate memoir—the story of a woman’s traumatic past catching up with her, in a country far from home, surrounded by people who have no idea what she’s endured. Caught between past and present, and between two very different cultures, the inquisitive and restless crime novelist searches for clarity. Beginning her own investigation, she delves into Fryar’s family and past, reconnects with the detectives of her case, and works with prosecutors in the months leading to trial.

As she recounts her long-term quest for closure, Winslow offers a heartbreakingly honest look at a vicious crime—and offers invaluable insights into the mind and heart of a victim.


  • 001 Jane Doe January

    Duração: 16s
  • 002 Chapter 01

    Duração: 32min
  • 003 Chapter 02

    Duração: 49min
  • 004 Chapter 03

    Duração: 37min
  • 005 Chapter 04

    Duração: 26min
  • 006 Chapter 05

    Duração: 16min
  • 007 Chapter 06

    Duração: 26min
  • 008 Chapter 07

    Duração: 30min
  • 009 Chapter 08

    Duração: 30min
  • 010 Chapter 09

    Duração: 37min
  • 011 Chapter 10

    Duração: 30min
  • 012 Chapter 11

    Duração: 28min
  • 013 Chapter 12

    Duração: 38min
  • 014 Chapter 13

    Duração: 38min
  • 015 Chapter 14

    Duração: 19min
  • 016 Chapter 15

    Duração: 33min
  • 017 Chapter 16

    Duração: 27min
  • 018 Chapter 17

    Duração: 33min
  • 019 Chapter 18

    Duração: 24min
  • 020 Chapter 19

    Duração: 59min
página 1 de 2