Something Rich and Strange

Teste agora Assinatura sem compromisso. Cancele quando quiser.


From the critically acclaimed, award-winning author of Serena and The Cove, thirty-four of his finest short stories, collected in one volume

No one captures the complexities of Appalchia—a rugged, brutal landscape of exquisite beauty—as evocatively and indelibly as author and poet Ron Rash. Winner of the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, two O. Henry prizes, and a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner Award, Rash brilliantly illuminates the tensions between the traditional and the modern, the old and the new south, tenderness and violence, man and nature. Though his focus is regional, the themes of Rash's work are universal, striking an emotional chord that resonates deep within each of our lives.

Something Rich and Strange showcases this acclaimed master's artistry and craftsmanship in thirty-two stories culled from previously published collections and two available for the first time in book form: "Outlaws" and "Shiloh." Each work of short fiction demonstrates Rash's dazzling ability to evoke the heart and soul of this land and its people—men and women inexorably tethered to the geography that defines and shapes them. Filled with suspense and myth, hope and heartbreak, and told in language that flows like "shimmering, liquid poetry" (Atlanta Journal-Constitution), Something Rich and Strange is an iconic work from an American literary virtuoso.


  • 001 Something Rich and Strange

    Duração: 44s
  • 002 Hard Times

    Duração: 24min
  • 003 Three AM and the Stars Were Out

    Duração: 20min
  • 004 The Ascent

    Duração: 23min
  • 005 Night Hawks

    Duração: 25min
  • 006 The Trusty

    Duração: 38min
  • 007 Back of Beyond

    Duração: 37min
  • 008 Lincolnites

    Duração: 20min
  • 009 Into The Gorge

    Duração: 30min
  • 010 Return

    Duração: 12min
  • 011 Waiting for the End of the World

    Duração: 15min
  • 012 Burning Bright

    Duração: 27min
  • 013 The Woman Who Believed in Jaguars

    Duração: 25min
  • 014 Where the Map Ends

    Duração: 24min
  • 015 Those Who Are Dead Are Only Now Forgiven

    Duração: 26min
  • 016 Their Ancient, Glittering Eyes

    Duração: 40min
  • 017 Falling Star

    Duração: 16min
  • 018 The Magic Bus

    Duração: 39min
  • 019 Something Rich and Strange

    Duração: 12min
  • 020 The Dowry

    Duração: 33min
página 1 de 2