Driving Home From The Cinema Reviews

Sinopse

In which I use the drive home from the cinema to share some short, (hopefully) snappy thoughts on what I've just seen.

Episódios

  • Episode 73 - THE HUNT

    Episode 73 - THE HUNT

    22/04/2020 Duração: 11min

    I dip into the world of straight from cinema coronavirus VOD with THE HUNT. It's rather good, and not what I was expecting. Also, I chat about some other stuff getting me through quarantine.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 72 - UNCUT GEMS

    Episode 72 - UNCUT GEMS

    13/04/2020 Duração: 11min

    Thoughts on the Safdies latest, starring Adam Sandler. Available on Netflix. Plus I recommend some other things that have been helping me get through the current bleak times and might help you too. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 71 - KING KONG (2005)

    Episode 71 - KING KONG (2005)

    29/03/2020 Duração: 16min

    Welcome to the quarantined Driving home from the cinema reviews. Generally speaking these will focus on new to VOD or streaming choices. But I re-watched Peter Jackson’s King Kong recently. And it’s intriguing to ponder what works, and what doesn’t, about that film. Also, each episode I’ll recommend a few films/TV shows/podcasts/books that have been helping me through these weird times. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 70 - IN FABRIC

    Episode 70 - IN FABRIC

    19/03/2020 Duração: 07min

    It's times like this we need an arty sorta horror film about a haunted dress. Or something. Peter Strickland is here with the goods.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 69 - THE INVISIBLE MAN

    Episode 69 - THE INVISIBLE MAN

    15/03/2020 Duração: 09min

    Leigh Whannell's take on the iconic Universal Monster is getting rave reviews and killing it at the box office. Doing so by considering the concept through a chilling, grounded lens and providing one of the tensest film experiences of recent times.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 68 - BIRDS OF PREY

    Episode 68 - BIRDS OF PREY

    29/02/2020 Duração: 11min

    The Cathy Yan directed, Margot Robbie starring BIRDS OF PREY (AND THE FANTABULOUS EMANCIPATION OF ONE HARLEY QUINN) continues a run of pretty well received films in the DCEU. Here's a few thoughts on the film, particularly the excellent performances and creative action. You can also hear me get distracted by some Australian wildlife on a couple of different occasions. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse   

  • Episode 67 - A HIDDEN LIFE

    Episode 67 - A HIDDEN LIFE

    15/02/2020 Duração: 11min

    Terrence Malick's latest incredible piece shows us not only that war is hell, but that even opening up yourself to the idea of war is hell. A really powerful film and a three hours that is an essential cinema going experience.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse   

  • Episode 66 - PORTRAIT OF A LADY ON FIRE

    Episode 66 - PORTRAIT OF A LADY ON FIRE

    19/01/2020 Duração: 09min

    A review of Celine Sciamma's latest film, an incredible period romance that is amongst 2019's best films.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse   

  • Episode 65 - THE IRISHMAN

    Episode 65 - THE IRISHMAN

    16/12/2019 Duração: 10min

    Marty arrives on Netflix with this epic reworking of past gangster film hits. De Niro, Pacino and Pesci are all along for the ride. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse   

  • Episode 64 - CHARLIES ANGELS

    Episode 64 - CHARLIE'S ANGELS

    12/12/2019 Duração: 07min

    The action franchise gets the reboot treatment in this fun flick. Directed by Elizabeth Banks with a very cool cast.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 63 - DOCTOR SLEEP

    Episode 63 - DOCTOR SLEEP

    03/12/2019 Duração: 13min

    Director Mike Flanagan had a bloody tough balancing job with this one. For the most part it's an excellent achievement I reckon, with a few notable exceptions that I discuss here. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 62 - PAIN AND GLORY

    Episode 62 - PAIN AND GLORY

    19/11/2019 Duração: 09min

    The latest film by Pedro Almodovar is a consideration of ageing and a rumination on work created long ago.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 61 - THE FURIES

    Episode 61 - THE FURIES

    17/11/2019 Duração: 07min

    I take a quick look at low budget local slasher THE FURIES.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 60 - THE FAREWELL and ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD

    Episode 60 - THE FAREWELL and ONCE UPON A TIME IN HOLLYWOOD

    21/10/2019 Duração: 15min

    Two films. One of em I really liked. One of em I didn't.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 59 - THE WANDERING EARTH

    Episode 59 - THE WANDERING EARTH

    05/09/2019 Duração: 10min

    With cinema opportunities at an absolute minimum, I took the chance to catch one of the year's biggest worldwide hits - the visually arresting Chinese sci-fi film THE WANDERING EARTH.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 58 - SLAM

    Episode 58 - SLAM

    08/08/2019 Duração: 08min

    Aussie film SLAM is currently doing the festival rounds. I dig into its portrayal of identity and racism, plus the plot, performances and technical richness.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 57 - SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME

    Episode 57 - SPIDER-MAN: FAR FROM HOME

    29/07/2019 Duração: 09min

    I can't recall the last Marvel film I had as little anticipation for as this one. I was expecting loads of multiverse (which I don't love) and we all have a little Spidey fatigue. But this was really delightful and operated at a different scale to most Marvel films.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 56 - HIGH LIFE

    Episode 56 - HIGH LIFE

    16/07/2019 Duração: 08min

    Claire Denis makes her English language debut with a cerebral, challenging sci-fi film starring Robert Pattinson. Not the easiest film to ease myself back in with to be honest. Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse  

  • Episode 55 - JOHN WICK 3

    Episode 55 - JOHN WICK 3

    02/06/2019 Duração: 09min

    My recent burst of energy in posting long since recorded episodes continues unabated. JOHN WICK 3 is rad. Will go close to being the best action film of the year and is also the weakest in the franchise. Interesting to consider the way they film stretches the Wick mythology and if it works.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse 

  • Episode 54 - AVENGERS ENDGAME

    Episode 54 - AVENGERS ENDGAME

    30/05/2019 Duração: 20min

    I've gotten into this bad habit of recording episodes and never taking the 10 minutes it takes me to post them. So here's a review of AVENGERS ENDGAME I recorded maybe a week after it came out. The biggest behemoth of the year. It's an interesting film to ponder in terms of what it's attempting to do (or at least wrap up). But it's perhaps not all that interesting a film. Although I quite liked it, reflecting it's the flaws that stick out to me more than the triumphs, at least on first viewing.  Ratings System: Longneck of Melbourne Bitter - an excellent film. Sublimely entertaining, meaningful or both.  Pint of Kilkenny - a very good, highly recommended film.  Stubby of Reschs - a good film and worth your time.  Schooner of Carlton Draught - Not great aye. But perhaps an interesting idea or two.  Schooner of Tooheys New - Shithouse 

página 1 de 4

Informações: